Letters between Millie and Bertie from ‘The Butterfly Lion’ by Michael Morpurgo

No.22, Lakeside Avenue,
England.
Dear Millie,
Guess what? I joined the army! I was just sick of my old school, and plus I’m old enough now! We have to wake up at 6:30 every morning, well we don’t have to but the general makes us! He’s a but of a moody pants if you ask me! I sent an application form to them last week, and on Thursday I received a letter from “The Royal Navy” saying they have accepted me! It’s a big commitment but I’m willing to take it on! We train from 9am to 7pm Monday to Friday!!! I really do work hard! You’ll be surprised at the size of my muscles now! Haha only joking! The uniform is an ugly dark green and I’ve got lots of different badges on it.
You might be a bit worried because your father died in the army, but I promise I will come back to you as often as possible! I’ll sent you postcards every week!
My roommate is one of my old friends from school, Jake, you remember him, right? We get along great! We play charades on a weekend, or sometimes chess! There isn’t many things to do, when your not training! We’re only allowed our cell-phones on Sundays, and that is only for one hour, and you are only allowed to make one call!!! Most Sundays I have to ring my Aunty and Uncle to tell them how it’s going, but I’ll ring you one of the days!
Anyway how are things going with you?? How’s Nolips and Nanny Mason?? Hope all’s good there!
Yours truly,
Bertie
By Ailish

Screen Shot 2014-12-02 at 07.28.32

Dear Millie,
I have decided that I am going to join the army because it would be a better life than what I have now at school here. I know your father died in the army but I swear I will make you and your father happy. By the way how are you and is your school good or bad?
Can’t wait to hear from you soon,
Your Bertie

By Shauna

To my dearest Millie,
I am at the war now. I have made some friends. Sadly, some nice people died and I am quite scared.
I have seen a poster that has a Le prince Blanc (The white prince ) on it… my white lion!
I am overjoyed with happiness!!
I can’t go and I’m not sure if I should or not?
I cannot write any more..
Im sorry.
I’ll try to visit any chance I get.
I will I promise,
Lots Of My Love! Bertie…..
By Siobhan

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “Letters between Millie and Bertie from ‘The Butterfly Lion’ by Michael Morpurgo

  1. They are really good letters to Millie! There are some great usage of language and some great sentences! 😊

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *